{a sketch from my study in Italy of the David sculpture by Michelangelo in Florence}

yesterday i talked about Daniel’s example of being faithful in prayer. i thought that this week i could talk about who else is an example in how to be faithful in prayer. it might be interesting to look at examples of prayers that others have prayed::

today let’s talk about David. right now i’m going through a bible study of the life of David and it’s really interesting. i haven’t gotten very far yet, but i’d recommend it: A Heart Like His. so far the bible study has just been going through 1st Samuel. 1st Samuel goes through the story of David’s life. It will also being going through some of the Psalms because David is attributed to have written many of them.

Learning from his life, his faith and from his personal prayers is a good way to learn how to grow in my relationship with God and even to learn how to pray! So, if no one else inspires you, let David. He is someone who has poured out his heart to God and for all to see. May we all learn from his faith.  sometimes when i don’t know what to say, i just go to the psalms and read the prayers that have already been prayed. i pray that these words will be my prayer.

i’m sure i’ll be talking about him again in this series, but here are a couple of psalms that encourage me to pray, to say what is deep in my heart that sometimes is so hard to say. even if they seem to just be asking God to be here, to listen, to hear my heart. may these verses encourage you too:

Psalm 17:6-7 “I call upon you, for you will answer me, O God; incline your ear to me; hear my words. Wondrously show your steadfast love, O savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand.”

Psalm 5:2 “Give ear to my words, O Lord; consider my groaning. Give attention to the sound of my cry, my King and my God, for to you do I pray.”

Psalm 102:1 “Hear my prayer, O Lord; let my cry come to you! Do not hide your face from me in the day of my distress! Incline your ear to me; answer my speedily in the day when I call!”

but really, if you just open your bible to the Psalms you’ll find thousands of examples of prayer. so go ahead. go learn from David. i’m going to too.

xo-kimberly renee

{to see the other 31 days of prayer posts please click on the link}

