peace is something that is promised to us as believers. we’re promised a peace in our hearts that the world can not give us. through prayer we can find this peace.

“…do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Phil. 4:6-7

this verse says, don’t be anxious about anything.

i don’t know about you, but i’m a rather anxiety ridden person. i worry about my future, my spouse, my job, my friends, my family…. the list goes on and on. i used to get migraines because i worried so much. my master’s year in school when i was working on my thesis, i was having a kind of panic attack over and over from worry where i would find it hard to breath. there would be minutes where i would just be gasping for air, i just couldn’t catch my breathe! i’m no stranger to worry. and my body seems to react in the weirdest ways. so when i hear this verse i don’t know what to think.

i’m not sure it’s even possible to not worry about anything.

my selfish little mind seems to just worry worry worry about every little thing. from the impression i’ve just made…about the stain from spilling my tea, again…to the huge struggles that we all face and some dear ones are facing right now…

but nope, we’re not supposed to worry. in fact, it is a sin to worry. worry is me holding onto something so tightly that it makes me sick. worry is something that i haven’t trusted to God’s very big and capable hands.

instead, we’re called to: IN EVERYTHING, by prayer, with thanksgiving, tell God what is on our minds. what we’re worried about. hand it over. we’re told here in the scripture that we’re suppossed to give it all up to Him.  to trust His great big hands with our little (but big to us) worries.

and you know what He promises?

PEACE.

the Peace of God no less.

it surpasses ALL understanding.

and you know what else? it will GUARD your heart and your minds from every other worry!

every.other.worry. that could possible come. it’s a perfect peace. a peace that rests in Christ Jesus.

i want that peace.

can i get an amen?

xo-kimberly renee

{this is day 5 of a 31 day series. please feel free to check out the days if you haven’t had a chance!}

