Courage.

Sometimes I think I don’t know the meaning of that word.

I have this plaque that sits on my desk at work that reads “quiet courage”. My boss thinks it’s weird that I have it on my desk. Husbuddy got it for me for our anniversary a couple years ago, from one of my favorite artists- Kelly Rae. I like it because there’s one of Kelly’s signature girls on it with lots of color and texture, but what I like most is the handwriting that you can see behind/over the paint. It makes me think of someone’s history or a journal. Like the girl is writing down her own story in a journal. What she’s experiencing at the moment and how she reacts to this experience determines who she is at that moment. And she has quiet courage to face life. TO FACE right now. It’s a good reminder to me, to have courage, even if it’s quiet, in the moment.

I was reminded again this morning when I read Acts 23:11-22. Paul is in prison because he spoke God’s truth to the Jews. His heart is broken because they won’t listen. But He is also frightened. A bunch of the Jews  have taken a vow to make sure he is killed.  The Lord stands by his side {did you get that? the LORD physically stood by Paul’s side}and says, “take courage”. the verse goes like this:

“the following night the Lord stood by him and said, Take courage, for as you have testified to the facts about me in Jerusalem, so you must testify also in Rome”

then my devotional says “…I hope Christ’s tenderness toward His willing captive touches you. He stood near Paul and said, “Have Courage!”

Christ’s tenderness toward Paul does touch me.

How about you?

It almost makes me cry to picture it. Sometimes it’s hard to have courage to face the day. Let alone a day like the ones Apostle Paul faced. I can’t imagine. Luckily, Christ is standing right beside him, giving free courage. And He is standing right beside you and me, giving courage to those of us who need it.

Courage to stand up for truth.

Courage to stand up for love.

Courage to just stand.

bench

May you be blessed with His courage, today, my friends.

xoxo- kimberly renee

{ps- for those of you curious- the quote from my devotional is by Beth Moore, in her Paul-90 days on His Journey of Faith.}

