grace

as you give yourself grace in this 31 days of letting go, I wanted to share a tutorial with you.

How to make a “Red Letters” canvas:

grace3

don’t worry, it’s super simple and so fun.

Supplies:

  • canvas
  • modge podge
  • old bible pages (I know, I know, I’m a seminary student’s wife and I’m tearing up old bibles… but come’on, we all have old bibles that we don’t use. There are a lot of good ways to share them with others, but it doesn’t hurt anyone to use them in art!)
  • stencils
  • red paint.
  • sand paper
  • antiquing stamps
  • dry cloth
How to make it:
  1. cover the canvas with pages. modge podge under and on top of the pages.
  2. let dry
  3. tape your stencil letters onto the canvas.
  4. paint the letters
  5. remove stencils before the letters dry. (very important!) clean up any smudges.
  6. let dry
  7. sand the whole thing. don’t worry about the pages pulling up.
  8. rub with antiquing stamps. rub with cloth to get off excess.
  9. paint over entire canvas with varnish.
  10. let dry
  11. done!
see? easy peesy. :)
but if it’s still too difficult, you could always buy mine: at my shop I have GRACE and LOVE.
Do you have another word to use? Let me know! I can make customized Red Letter Paintings too!
